Happy ONE Month

I truly believe that everything happens for a reason. Looking back at the obstacles I’ve faced throughout the years, all that struggle brought me exactly where I’m at. Living and working in San Francisco, 2 1/2 years of dancing for the best team in the NBA, a loving family and the best of friends I could ever ask for. Life is good… God is good.

It’s been ONE month since my surgery and so much was put into perspective in that short time. Living an active lifestyle: running 5/6 miles a day, dancing, and walking up and down the hills of SF– it was hard to adjust to this new lifestyle. You never really appreciate your health and what you have until you experience it yourself. Every day I reminded myself that this is only temporary and I will get back to where I was prior to surgery. My heart goes out to those with disabilities and injuries- prayers are out for you every night. Even though I can’t do the things I used to do, I still wake up every day with a thankful heart and feel blessed to be where I’m at- regardless of this minor setback.

Okay okay, enough of the gushy life-perspective stuff. I just wanted to let ya’ll know that I’m doing just fine 🙂 NOW, updates on the knee…

Week 3:
rash1-WTF why is my knee pussing?! “Um hi doc, I know I’ve called you way too many times because I’m a little hypochondriacal but my incisions are pussing and I’m freaking out
-Antibiotics. Tried 3 different ones because I was getting an allergic reaction to the medication and started getting hives all over my body and swollen eyes
PT I was able to start putting weight on my foot!! So exciting to take my first steps WITH crutches
Calf raises and baby squats, super scary but so stoked to be doing something other than quad sets and leg raises
-Felt some badassery coming over me and walked with one crutch then slowly started walking without crutches 😀
-Went to the Warrior game and saw my sissies whom I haven’t seen since my surgery. Yes I walked in with my crutches #swag

Week 4:
-Officially walking WITHOUT crutches baby!!
-Went to the gym for the first time and just did upper bod of course
-Stocked up on Lenny & Larry protein cookies because they’re 3 for $5 at Sprouts
-Infection starting to clear up… here’s the narsty progression pics

-3rd picture is of this morning… scar is healing well and skin is looking better from the infection
PT worked on gait training since I’ve got a bit of a pimp walk, super confident in calf raises but squats are still a little bit scary
-I can put all my weight on my leg and extension is perfecto. Flexion is at 110 and is probably the only painful part for me but excited to be at 110!
-Now that I am fully weight bearing I can start going on the bike and headed to the gym right now to give it a try

All in all I’m recovering well. When I had my infection I was freaking out that I might be allergic to the screws in my knee. At that point I realized- I don’t care to be ahead or behind in recovery, I just pray that I recover properly and stay healthy. But if we’re being honest I’m recovering ahead of schedule 😉

More updates on PT soon. Can’t wait to start slowly jogging on the Alter G and to get back to that #fitlife. 

Love ya’ll and thanks for the constant support. Happy ONE month to me!! It’s been a journey but I’m getting through it with a positive mindset. The positive vibes are what help me progress so fast and strengthens me every day. #faith

Off to the gym to finally get a sweat in and bring up my heart rate. OH and I’m back in SF so let’s get lunch, dinner, or even better- WINE.

Besos.

xo
CG

#claRicEHAB

One thought on “Happy ONE Month

Leave a Reply

