The Struggle to Maintain Your Toned Bod

I don’t know about my fellow ACL club members but the struggle to maintain a toned body while recovering is REAL. I am 19 days post op and have noticed a significant difference with my body.

  1. I’m not as hungry as I used to be. If you know me- I am always eating and while I’m eating, I’m wondering what I’m going to eat next. Every 2 hours– feed the lady! I’m trying to get as much protein I can from Muscle Milk and protein bars. I’m feeling kinda weak.
  2. You know the saying, “If you don’t use it you lose it”— that’s real life. Although I’m doing my exercises almost every hour my thunder thigh turned into a wet noodle. Let me just give you a little sneak peak of what I need to get back to:
    Screen Shot 2016-03-22 at 8.46.52 AMNow looking at this is incredibly heartbreaking for me. 25 years of dancing, running, jumping, squatting, you name it. Although this is just added motivation to get back to where I used to be. On the plus side- my left leg is getting pretty beastly. I like to sit on the ground so every time I get up I’m doing a single leg squat. And every time I pick something up, I’m doing a single leg deadlift. Gotta think on the positive side 😉 One beast of a leg and one wet noodle.
  3. Remember when I said I’m not as hungry as I used to be? Well I wish my appetite for dessert would have changed. Nope- still the same Clarice with the biggest sweet tooth you could ever imagine. It doesn’t help that my friends secretly love getting me fat and feeding me cupcakes 😉 JK love you guys, keep em coming hahah

So maybe my struggle comes from my love for everything chocolate. Who knows but what I can say is that I am doing everything I can to maintain. Besides the occasional sweet cheat I am eating pretty clean.
Breakfast: Egg white spinach and turkey omelette
Lunch: Kale salad 
Dinner: Chicken and brocc

I’m also keeping up with my home exercises for PT even though they’re just about as exciting as watching a snail cross the street. I was given a new exercise though (photo 3) to fire up my calf muscles, a new exercise is always exciting! I’m a productive Polly so my restricted PT exercises are killing me. But I’m also keeping up with my at-home arm/ab workout, which keeps me somewhat same and makes me feel better that my arms are getting jacked. Thank God I went back home to SF to pick up my foam roller. Sheesh when you’re immobile you’re definitely going to need to roll out every day– so get one if you don’t. I have 3 at home– that’s how much I LOVE rolling out.

Since I apparently did a number on my meniscus I am not allowed to weight bear until the end of the week (3 weeks post op). I’m incredibly excited to graduate from the crutches and start weight bearing because that is one step closer to walking again soon. I’ll be on the anti gravity treadmill on Friday so stay tuned for updates.

Anyway, that’s all I got for ya. 19 days post op and getting stronger every day. This process is incredibly slow and I feel like my life is put on hold for now- but again everything happens for a reason. This set back is a blessing in disguise and I can’t wait to be back at 100% and coming back stronger than before.

I’ll be in SF Wednesday until Friday- come visit me ❤

xo
CG

#claRicEHAB

Leave a Reply

